top of page

Shoreline         Alliance


The Tassy Walden Awards
for New Voices in Children's Literature

Image © Deborah Freedman, adapted from her book This House, Once, Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 2017

Tassy logo sm.jpg
The Tassy Walden Awards for New Voices in Children’s Literature, launched in 2001, is an annual competition that encourages and nurtures the creation of exceptional books for children by unpublished Connecticut writers and illustrators. The competition includes five award categories: Picture Book (text only), Illustrated Picture Book (text and illustrations), Children’s Book Illustrator’s Portfolio, Middle Grade Novel, and Young Adult Novel.​

Illustration by Leslie Connor

2023 Tassy Sponsors

Doe & Tom Boyle
Leslie Bulion
Leslie Connor
Thea & John Guidone


Illustration by Marcela Staudenmaier

A Celebration of Tassy Success Stories

The Shoreline Arts Alliance and Tassy Founders celebrate the work of all Tassy Award winners and finalists who are now published. Please enjoy a visit to their websites and blogs.

Alice C. Bauer, Leslie Bulion, Leslie Connor, Abi Cushman,  Maggie DanaStacy DeKeyser, Betsy DevanyFrank DormerJulia DenosJeanne Zulick FerruoloDeborah FreedmanThea Guidone, Janae MarksLynda Mullaly HuntRolandas KiauleviciusAmanda MarroneMarilyn Taylor McDowell, Stacy Barnett Mozer, Nina Nelson, Nicole PanteleakosSteven ParlatoMartha Seif Simpson, Joyce A. StengelJane SutcliffeCat UrbainBrenna Burns-Yu, Karen Fortunati. Sam Taylor, Nancy Tandon, Anne Kubitsky, Gabriella Svenningsen

These winners and finalists have self-published their award-winning submissions: 

J.M. DatilloCheryl KlingJason Marchi

Sign Up for our Newsletter to Stay Informed

bottom of page