On June 8th Jason Robert Brown will be presented with The Goodspeed Award for Outstanding Contributi

Goodspeed Musicals is thrilled to announce that the Award-winning Composer and Lyricist Jason Robert Brown will be the latest recipient of The Goodspeed Award for Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theatre.

Executive Director Michael Gennaro shared, “Goodspeed is delighted to bestow this honor upon such an extraordinary artist - one of the most esteemed talents of musical theater today. His exceptional work is marked by a unique wit, style, energy and finesse. Jason Robert Brown exemplifies all that the Goodspeed Award celebrates.”

Mr. Brown is a skilled composer, lyricist, conductor, arranger, orchestrator, director and performer – best known for his dazzling scores to several of the most renowned musicals of his generation, including the generation-defining The Last Five Years, his debut song cycle Songs for a New World, and the seminal Parade written with Alfred Uhry, for which he won the 1999 Tony Award for Best Score. Jason’s score for The Bridges of Madison County, a musical adapted with Marsha Norman and directed by Bartlett Sher received two Tony Awards (for Best Score and Orchestrations). In addition, Brown’s work has been showcased in the Goodspeed Musicals productions of 13 which went on to Broadway and London’s West End and My Paris, both at The Terris Theatre.

Jason Robert Brown will be honored on June 8, 2019 as Broadway luminaries and arts supporters gather for Goodspeed Musicals’ gala event to support its New Works Initiatives. A much-anticipated annual event saluting the best in musical theatre, the Goodspeed Gala has become the place to be each summer. The Honorary Committee includes Georgia Stitt, Chair; Tony Danza, Kurt Deutsch, Robert Horn, Marsha Norman and Alfred Uhry. The evening will include cocktails, dinner, silent and live auctions and entertainment including a special performance by the honoree. The event will be held at The Riverhouse at Goodspeed Station, 55 Bridge Street, East Haddam, CT. Sponsors for this year’s gala include Hoffman Auto Group and Viking River Cruises.

“Nobody does the work of supporting and celebrating musical theater with as much love, enthusiasm and consistency as Goodspeed Musicals, and nobody’s been doing it for longer. I am especially moved to be this year’s honoree at the Goodspeed Gala, helping to continue their amazing work, and getting to do it with some very fine musicians and singers. The first time I worked at Goodspeed was in 1994, and in these past twenty-five years (!), I’ve been thrilled every time I’ve come to this magical corner of Connecticut. I can’t wait for June and an opportunity to make some great music and celebrate the incredible legacy of Goodspeed Musicals," Brown stated.

The New York Times referred to Jason as “a leading member of a new generation of composers who embody high hopes for the American musical.” Brown has been hailed by the Philadelphia Inquirer as “one of Broadway’s smartest and most sophisticated songwriters since Stephen Sondheim.” His outstanding music has been enjoyed the world over.

Originally designed for and presented to Ira Gershwin more than 20 years ago, this is Goodspeed's most prestigious honor. Goodspeed is pleased to bestow this annual award upon a member of the theatre community in recognition of their extraordinary talent. Previous honorees include Julie Andrews, Martin Charnin, Kristin Chenoweth, Sue Frost, Ira Gershwin, Sheldon Harnick, Jerry Herman, William Ivey Long, Thomas Meehan, Michael P. Price, Chita Rivera, Gerald Schoenfeld, Stephen Schwartz, Susan Stroman, Charles Strouse, Tommy Tune, Tony Walton and Paul Williams.

For additional information regarding this event, please contact Mary Miko mmiko@goodspeed.org or by phone 860.873.8664, x368

#communityevents #memberorganization #pressrelease




24867 Attitude_Front Label FINAL-2 TM-1.
The Daniel E. Offutt, III Charitable Trust 


725 Boston Post Road,

Guilford, CT 06437



  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Shoreline Arts Alliance © 2018 | All Rights Reserved

Photo Credits - Judith L. Barbosa

Website Design by Kristy Chambrelli