Shoreline Arts Alliance
Postmark Deadline Extended to February 5, 2014
Hand delivered must be received by 4pm February 5

New Voices in Children's Literature: Tassy Walden Awards competition encourages and nurtures the creation of exceptional quality books for children by unpublished Connecticut writers and illustrators. Judges may present a $250 prize to a winner in each of five categories: Picture Book (text only), Illustrated Picture Book (art and text), Children's Book Illustrator Portfolio, Middle Grade Novel, and Young Adult/Teen Novel.

All submissions to the New Voices in Children's Literature competition must adhere to the entry requirements posted below and are evaluated according to children's book publishing standards in a two-tier process. First, nationally recognized literary agents select submission finalists in each award category. Second, acclaimed editors determine, at their discretion, awardees and honorable mention recognition. Each year, the names of finalists and awardees will be posted on this website as soon as they are announced by the judges.A reception will be held at the James Blackstone Memorial Library in Branford on Tuesday, May 27 at 7pm. All are invited to join us as we honor the finalists and present the awards, as determined by the judges.

New Voices in Children's Literature: Tassy Walden Awards are judged on the basis of literary and/or artistic merit and quality. Awards are not for didactic intent nor for popularity. In evaluating submissions, judges consider excellence achieved among the following areas:

For Writers: Establishment of the theme; plot development; character development; depiction of setting; suitability of material for a child audience; overall presentation, including clarity, accuracy, and organization of material.

For Illustrators: Artistic technique; ability to convey story, theme, characters, plot, information, setting, and mood through pictures; suitability of style of illustration for a child audience.

The following forms are available to download:

Guidelines and Call for Entry 2014

Frequently Asked Questions
Download "Getting Started" Tip Sheet
Download "Helpful Tips" for Illustrators
Download Tassy Walden Award Sample Manuscript Pages

For more information please email questions to


Each year workshops are offered in locations around Connecticut. These workshops are open to the public and free to attend and are facilitated by published children's authors and illustrators and award winners of the New Voices in Children's Literature competition. The workshops provide potential entrants with guidance in preparing Tassy Walden Award submissions according to the entry requirements; provide insight into the standards of the children's book publishing industry; and answer questions about this field and writing and illustrating for an audience of children. Workshops for the 2014 competition have taken place. No additional workshops are being scheduled.

2014 Awards Reception: May 27, 2014 at 7pm - James Blackstone Memorial Library, 758 Main Street, Branford, CT. All are invited!!

Click here for the 2013 Winners & Finalists

2013 New Voices in Children's Literature Sponsors: Jack & Helen Davis & Wendy, Rex, Shane, Erica & Skye Walden.

2013 Donors: Alice Bauer, Doe & Tom Boyle, Leslie Cahill, Tricia Carey, Leslie Connor, Pamela Farley, Deborah Freedman & Ben Ledbetter, Miriam Giskin, Barbara Gold, Thea & John Guidone, Leslie Bulion & Rubin Hirsch, Terry McGuire, Nina Nelson, Mary-Kelly Busch & Daniel Picchioni, Deborah St. Thomas, Judy & Jerry Theise, Dianne Warner, Pam & Buck Wilson, Betsy Wittemann, Karen Zoccoli

Published Tassy Award Winners & Finalists:

Here is a list of Tassy award winning writers and illustrators now published or under contract for publication.
Alice C. Bauer, Leslie Bulion, Leslie Connor, Maggie Dana, Stacy DeKeyser, Betsy Devaney, Frank Dormer, Julia Denos, Deborah Freedman, Thea Guidone, Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Rolandas Kiaulevicius,Amanda Marrone, Marilyn Taylor McDowell, Nina Nelson, Steven Parlato, Jane Sutcliffe, Cat Urbain.

The following winners or finalists have self-published their award-winning submission: J.M. Datillo, Cheryl Kling, Jason Marchi,.         







WoW Gold,Buy WoW Gold,Website Design,Web Design,Health Tips,Health Guides,NFL News,NFL Jerseys,Fashion Design,Home Design,Replica Handbags,Replica Bags,Jewelry Stores,Wedding Jewelry,WOW Gold,Cheap WoW Gold,Wedding Dresses,Evening Dresses,MMORPG Guides,MMORPG Tips,Fashion Jewelry,Fashion Crystal,Sexy Lingerie,Best Sexy Lingerie,Fashion Clothing,Fashion Shoes,Travel News,Travel Guides,Education News,Education Tips
uggs clearance